14 Snacks and Foods You Didn’t Know Were Vegan
Being vegan (for a month or a lifetime) isn’t easy. Not only do you have to commit to checking the back of the pack of just about every item of food that you buy but you’ve often got to pay quite a high price for the trouble, too.
A diet heavy on fruits, vegetables, and whole grains remains the best way to stick to a plant-based lifestyle but no one should have to eat like a character of The Crucible 24 hours a day, every day of the year. We’ve got plenty of Quick Vegan Recipes on our site as well as some brilliant Vegan Pasta Recipes that won’t take up too much of your afternoon. But sometimes all you want is a quick and easy mindless snack where you don’t have to stress about whether any animal cruelty was involved in making it and where you don’t have to feel like you’re getting the second-best or a not-as-good-as-the-original alternative. A moment where all you have to do is open a packet, open your mouth, and enjoy.
That’s why I’ve compiled this handy list of ingredients and snack food that you might not have known were vegan. From Oreos to Coco Shreddies, all of these are worth adding to your shopping trolley the next time you’re craving something that’s not another sweet potato curry. You’re welcome, Mob.
I’m just as surprised as you are that Flying Goose’s brilliant sriracha mayo is completely plant-based. I’ll admit that it has sort of made me call the whole “mayo” part into question but I’m not complaining if it means I can eat this without worrying about my weekly animal product consumption. Slather this on everything from rice bowls to sandwiches. It’s spicy, creamy, and you’ll find yourself using it on the daily.
Hackney Gelato Dark Chocolate Sorbetto
An icy cold, dairy and egg-free frozen dessert, sorbet is always a great option when you’re hit by an ice cream craving. This dark chocolate situation from Hackney Gelato is one of the best about – it’s rich, decadent, and doesn’t lack in texture like a lot of subpar vegan ice creams out there. Stash this one in the freezer and break in case of emergency.
Lotus Biscoff Spread
Honestly, gun to my head, I would not have guessed that Lotus Biscoff Spread was vegan. It just seems like one of those food products that’s bound to have some sort of dairy or butter or animal-related agent in there to bring it all together. But no. This sweet spread (both the crunchy and the smooth version) is fully plant-based and an excellent means of satisfying your sweet tooth.
Lindt Excellence 70% Dark Chocolate
Lindt Excellence is pretty excellent chocolate (I always used to steal squares of it from the fridge when my mum wasn’t looking) and it’s pretty naturally vegan, too. The ingredients of these bars include cocoa mass, sugar, cocoa butter, and vanilla. It couldn’t be simpler and it’s always nice to enjoy a product that hasn’t had its recipe tampered with to make it plant-based.
Yes, Ritz Crackers are vegan. I don’t know if I’d go as far as to say whether they’re actually tasty or not but a lot of people do like them and it turns out that you can eat them if you’re lactose-intolerant, so go figure. Buy these if you’re interested in adhering to a plant-based diet and enjoy Ritz Crackers. Don’t like them if you don’t. It’s as simple as that.
Jacob’s Cream Crackers
Cheese is going to be off the cards if you’re trying to be a vegan but crackers? Crackers are still fair game, my friend. Jacob’s Cream Crackers have always been my go-to and in spite of their name, they don’t actually contain any cream or dairy. Great for snacking on but I’d make sure to pair them with some sort of wet element if you don’t want your mouth to end up as dry and arid as the Gobi desert.
Oreos are always the standard answer for the “you won’t believe these are vegan!” listicles on the internet which means that, by now, most people probably know that Oreos are vegan. But just in case you didn’t know: Oreos are vegan.
One of the biggest problems I’ve found with trying to follow a vegan diet is the craving for super umami and meaty food. A lot of plant-based meats sort of scratch that itch but the best thing I’ve found to do that is Twiglets. Most people associate Twiglets with the festive season (and for good reason) but they’re actually in season all year round. Have a bowl of these at your desk and you’ll stop fantasizing about pork chops every time that 5pm rolls around.
Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup
Want to add some excitement to a cup of oat milk? Squeeze some Hershey’s choccie syrup into it. This syrup is completely plant-based and makes for a great addition to vegan desserts and ice cream. You’re only really limited by your imagination with this stuff but I won’t judge you if your creativity caps at squeezing it straight into your mouth. Times are tough for everyone.
I’m not saying that being a vegan is easy but I’m 65% more sure that I could be a vegan now that I know that Frosted Shreddies are fully plant-based. Not only are these sugary cross-hatched pillows completely dairy-free but the Coco Shreddies are as well. I wouldn’t recommend subsisting on an only-Shreddies diet but a bowl every now and then won’t hurt. Just make sure you’re using a milk alternative, mate. Otherwise, it definitely doesn’t count.
I’ve got to admit that most of the snacks you didn’t know were vegan on this list aren’t exactly good for you but they are all delicious. The fact that Doritos are vegan is both a total surprise and totally obvious at the same time. Not all the flavours are plant-based, mind. However, the Chilli Heatwave and Lightly Salted are both fully vegan and a great option if you want a punchy crisp that packs a lot of flavour.
When it comes to snacks that pass the down the pub test, I’d say Starburst are at the top of the list. Honest. Go to your local boozer and ask people whether they “know that Starbursts are vegan?” and I can guarantee most people will be pleasantly surprised. Or you’ll get barred from the pub. Either or.
Yep, prawn cocktail-flavoured things can be vegan. And Skips are pretty high up on the list of prawn cocktail-flavoured things that are actually nice, too. Eat a packet of these during your lunch break and no one would ever be able to guess that you’re a vegan. It’s the perfect crime.
Ah, Bisto. I know it’s not cool or hip to like Bisto and I’m supposed to say that you should always make your own gravy from scratch using the carcass of whatever animal you’re roasting but that’s not particularly plant-based now, is it? Making a fully vegan gravy is difficult and the fact that Bisto is vegan makes it an easy option. If you’re not a militant vegan, that is. Full disclosure: Bisto is made in the same production line as other products containing animal products and there may be cross-contamination. It’s down to personal choices at that point.